High Country, a short 7D film

Here’s a short clip from a recent trip through the Bogong High Plains in Victoria. I started the journey in Bright and worked my way down through the Bogong High Plains, ending up in Omeo. What a stunning part of Aus through autumn!

Gear used was the 7D + 17-40, 24-70, 70-200, Miller tripod and a glidetrack slider. Edited in FCP and Magic Bullet.I found the glidetrack slider difficult to use especially when trying to achieve a slow, subtle move. Getting a smooth consistent shot is a challenge.

This is the first work I’ve done on the 7D and I’m loving it much more as a video camera than a stills camera – you can really tell Canon had this in mind when they built it. I could have filmed with the 5D but wanted to see how the 7D performed in comparison. Love this camera.

Video Rig

9 responses

  1. love your work

    August 12, 2011 at 12:38 am

    • danproud

      Thanks Julie

      August 12, 2011 at 1:13 am

  2. Great work mate. The Colours are so epic. So was this a personal project or assignment?

    August 15, 2011 at 3:12 am

    • danproud

      Hey thanks Scott. Just a personal project!

      August 15, 2011 at 3:18 am

  3. Beautiful footage, Dan. I’m looking at purchasing timelapse dolly for timelapses and video. I see you are using the glidetrack slider, and mentioned it being tricky getting a smooth panning technique. Is is possible to attach a motorized head to enable easy panning? I’m looking at either a milapse telescope setup which has the motorized head and controller, however I think I’d prefer a dolly. I’m just trying to weigh up my options to find something in my price range…

    August 15, 2011 at 11:23 am

    • danproud

      Thanks Drew. Check out Kessler gear, probably the best to keep your options open. You can start with a slider, then upgrade to motorized time lapse gear, revolution head etc later on. Myself, I wouldn’t buy a slider that only does time lapse. I think you need the option to do both video and time lapse if your out on location.

      Thanks for watching mate!

      August 15, 2011 at 11:34 am

      • Yeah, been checking the Kessler range out, even looking at the dolly cranes but they are more for timelapse. The sliders can be used for both lapse and video though, and the motorized head would be awesome for those smooth movements. Just a matter of saving the money, that Kessler gear ain’t cheap!

        August 16, 2011 at 1:34 am

  4. danproud

    Yeah it looks like good gear. I think the pricing is actually pretty good. Looking around DSLR stuff is ridiculous $$ – Check out Cinevate’s stuff!

    August 16, 2011 at 1:44 am

  5. ‘m seeing it first time. This is an amazing video work. I felt like watching clips of world’s best videographer, seeing your clip. Fantastic!

    November 29, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

