Victoria High Country

I’m just back from a quick road trip through Alpine National Park in Vic, Bright to Omeo. What an amazing place through autumn! Only having 4 days to capture this place is impossible, and a little frustrating. I think you would need to live there for years to do it proper photographic justice. There is so much variety in the landscape. Here’s a few images I’ve stitched up so far, stay tuned many more to come.
A little hut up in the Bogong High Plains, called Copes Hut. It was built in 1929 for tourist accommodation. Funnily enough, I think it still gets used for tourist accommodation (unofficially!). Both evenings I visited this hut there were backpackers setting up for the night. Inside there is a fire place and bunks for 8 people!

Autumn colours in the little town of Bogong nestled in the steep hills of Alpine National Park. This town is a little hidden treasure, if you’re not paying attention heading to or from Falls Creek you’d easily miss the turn off.

Comments appreciated, let me know if you’ve been to this amazing area or plan on going!

12 responses

  1. Nice images Dan. I’ve been loving the Autumn colours as I’ve been travelling around Victoria and Tassie. You don’t see much of Autumn in Perth!

    We are heading up to Sydney soon and have actually been wondering whether to take the inland route from Melbourne or go round the coast….any recommendations?

    April 27, 2011 at 6:53 am

    • danproud

      Thanks Jo, I’m not sure what the coast looks like, but I can definitely recommend the inland route! You would have to get off the main highway though and up into the mountains to see some scenery – Bright is only a short drive out of Wangaratta.

      April 28, 2011 at 12:35 am

  2. Awesome stuff Dan. Love the first one. I’m heading down to that way over this coming weekend. A good dab of inspiration for me. Cheers.

    April 27, 2011 at 8:31 am

    • danproud

      Thanks Richard, keen to see what shots you come up with.

      April 28, 2011 at 12:35 am

  3. Hi Dan, great stuff as usual! Good to see a blog post I think apart from Leigh everyone has gone a bit quite.

    Cheers mate.

    April 27, 2011 at 10:23 am

    • Don’t know about that David. I haven’t touched my computer in over 5 days……I’m starting to shake! I should make up for the lack of posts later tonight.

      April 28, 2011 at 4:44 am

  4. Just beautiful, Dan! Your image takes me there. Wonderful work (as always)…

    April 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    • danproud

      Hi Harold! Appreciate the comment.

      April 28, 2011 at 12:36 am

  5. Dan these images (especially the top one) are brilliant!
    You have raised the bar on these images for sure. Don’t know how I’m going to compete with these!

    April 28, 2011 at 4:42 am

  6. Nice treatment on Cope’s Hut. Could spend many weeks in the area if you have the time.

    May 3, 2011 at 1:23 am

    • danproud

      Thanks Andrew, Love your snow shots of Wallaces!

      May 3, 2011 at 1:35 am

      • Thanks mate, if they had your brumbies in it I’d reckon they’d be spot on.

        May 4, 2011 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

